Innes and Egan - 2020-21 Club Champions
Date of Event Prahran Cricket Club : Sat May 29, 2021 1:03PM
Club Champions: Lauren Innes and Damon Egan


The 2020-21 Awards Presentation Night was held on 22 May at Rivers Edge, Melbourne. How lucky we were to sneak this in before the latest COVID lockdown took effect!


Around 140 guests, players past and present, parents, club officials and volunteers enjoyed a fabulous evening hosted by writer, journalist and media presenter Angela Pippos.


The night featured awards presentations and premiership celebrations from both 2019-20 and 2020-21, and we welcomed two new Life Members, Adam Bull and Stephen Seymour. Both of whom have subsequently announced their retirement from the True Blues.


Congratulations to Lauren Innes and Damon Egan, this year's club champions


Lauren Innes was awarded the Julie Calvert Medal after a fine season across both the women's 1st and 2nd grades. She accumulated 303 runs at 23.30 and 9 wickets at 21.30. Her tally of 483 points was just 5 ahead of second-placed Rhys McKenna on 478. Annabel Sutherland and Ellen Williams tied for third place on 420, with Ava Bennett in 5th place on 417.


Damon Egan capped off an outstanding debut year with the club taking away the DWN Jukes Medal for men's club champion. Damon finished on 715 points, well clear of second-placed Matt Wilcox on 681, who also left a healthy gap to third-placed Nick Morrey on 622 points. Nick Blaich was fourth on 593 points and Pranav Menon fifth on 565 points.


Egan and Wilcox also took away the major First Eleven team awards. Egan's 779 runs at 55.64 earned him the Dav Whatmore Trophy for best batting average while Matt Wilcox reaped reward from his fantastic year by winning the Bryce McGain Trophy for best bowling average with his 37 wickets at 12.97. Damon Egan was also awarded the Stan Stephens Memorial Trophy for First Eleven fielding.


Although she only played 7 matches due to state and national commitments, Annabel Sutherland showed her dominance in the women's program by earning both the Ando Aparo Trophy for batting average with her 195 runs at 32.50, and the Karen Brown Trophy for bowling average with 12 wickets at 15.67.

Lachie Bangs was awarded the AA Horneman Memorial Award for best playing clubman, and John Zarb the Ian Crawford Perpetual Presidents' Award for non-playing clubperson.


The inaugural winner of the new Kath Hempenstall Award for best playing clubwoman was Chloe Harrison.


The male and female Junior Encouragement awards were presented to Samara Dulvin and Charlie Giles.


Congratulations to all the winners.

2020-21 Award Winners



 Julie Calvert Medal

 Women's Club Champion      

 Lauren Innes       

483 Lauren Innes

478 Rhys McKennas

420 Annabel Sutherland

420 Ellen Williams

417 Ava Bennett

 DWN Jukes Medal

 Men's Club Champion

 Damon Egan

715 Damon Egan

681 Matthew Wilcox

622 Nick Morrey

593 Nicholas Blaich

565 Pranav Menon

 Women's First Eleven  

 Ando Aparo Trophy Batting

 Annabel Sutherland       195 runs @ 32.50
 Karen Brown Trophy - Bowling Annabel Sutherland12 wkts @ 15.67
 Fielding Paris Bowdler 
 Men's First Eleven  
 Dav Whatmore Trophy - Batting Damon Egan779 runs @ 55.64
 Bryce McGain Trophy - Bowling Matthew Wilcox37 wkts @ 12.97
 Stan Stephens Memorial Trophy - Fielding Damon Egan 
 Women's Second Eleven  
 Batting no qualifier 
 Bowling Maddison Heitlinger11 wkts @ 16.18
 Fielding Samantha Deeble 
 Men's Second Eleven  
 Batting Pranav Menon463 runs @ 51.44
 Bowling Yasiru Herath20 wkts @ 20.80
 Fielding Yasiru Herath 
 Women's Third Eleven  
 Batting Nikita Liyanage77 runs @ 11.00
 Bowling Anna Quinsey-Munro13 wkts @ 10.54
 Fielding Stephanie Chong 
 Men's Third Eleven  
 Batting Travis Jackson286 runs @ 31.78
 Bowling Kevin Seth17 wkts @ 14.41
 Fielding Thomas Sudano 
 Women's Fourth Eleven  
 Batting Samara Dulvin196 runs @ 49.00
 Bowling Maddison Heitlinger6 wkts @ 21.33
 Fielding Nikita Liyanage 
 Men's Fourth Eleven  
 Batting Will Pike 265 runs @ 53.00
 Bowling no qualifier 
 Fielding George Delimitrou 
 Junior Encouragement Awards  
 Women Samara Dulvin 
 Men Charlie Giles 
 Perpetual Trophies  

 Kath Hempenstall Award

 - Best Playing Clubwoman


 Chloe Harrison


 AA Horneman Memorial Award

 - Best Playing Clubman


 Lachlan Bangs


 Ian Crawford Perpetual Presidents' Award 

 - Best Non-playing Clubperson


 John Zarb


Last updated: Sunday June 6, 2021 10:58AM
Author: Nigel Hutton