Nigel Parsons appointed as new Club President
Date of Event : Wed Apr 11, 2018 7:23PM

The Prahran Cricket Club is excited in announcing that the Executive Committee has appointed the ninth President of the Club.


Please join with me in congratulating Nigel Parsons on becoming President number nine in the club’s 140 year history.  Nigel has been a member of the committee this season and is clearly the right person to take the club forward.


Nigel’s cricket pedigree includes playing at a premier level and having been President of a Premier Club in South Africa.  In addition, whilst being in Australia, Nigel has for the last five years been part of the newly formed South East Cricket Association's Junior Board, managing the development of Junior Representative Cricket with outstanding success. 


His professional career has been incredibly impressive to date and Nigel is currently the Australian Commercial Director of Mondelez, a global snacking company. You will probably be more familiar with some of their leading brands being Cadbury, The Natural Confectionary Company, Oreo, Ritz, Captains Table and Belvita. 


The timing of the appointment is extremely important as on the morning of the 21st April, we will be talking to a diverse group of people from all areas of the club about what the next 5 years and 10 years might look like for the Prahran Cricket Club.  It was never my intention to be in the role long term, only long enough to ensure that we find the right person to take the club forward and with such an important exercise being undertaken by the club, it makes sense that the person taking the longer term lead of the club also lead this process.  I am planning to remain a member of the committee for as long as the members feel I can make a contribution and will now focus full efforts on the Toorak Park redevelopment, which is very much looking like getting underway in 2018/19.


Please join with me in congratulating Nigel and wishing him well for an enjoyable time as President.  I know that I can count on you all to do whatever you can to make his term, the most successful yet in the proud club’s long history.


In stepping back, it is appropriate to thank your very hard working committee for this season:


  • Heidi Sutherland
  • Lisa Grimwade
  • Nigel Hutton
  • John Raglus
  • John Zarb
  • Plus our non-committee Treasurer, Rick Sykes


You will hear more about their achievements at the Presentation Night on the 21st April at the Junction Oval and the AGM (on a date and at a venue still to be determined).  There has been so much achieved, the club is extremely well placed for the future which will translate into on field success.  In 30 years plus involvement in cricket at a committee level, this is by far the hardest working team I have ever had the honour to lead and whilst small in number, what has been achieved is truly impressive.


Thank you all so much for your wonderful support.  I look forward to continuing the momentum we have built this season and ensuring that Prahran CC is the leading Premier Club in every aspect of the game.


Yours in cricket
Phil Williamson

Last updated: Sunday May 13, 2018 11:06AM