Nigel Hunt and Alana King 2019-20 Club Champions
Date of Event Prahran Cricket Club : Sat May 30, 2020 10:40AM
Julie Calvert Medalist Alana King and DWN Jukes Medalist Nigel Hunt


Nigel Hunt and Alana King have taken out the 2019-20 Jukes and Calvert Medals.


Congratulations to all recipients of awards for the 2019-20 season.


Alana King capped off an outstanding year to dominate the Julie Calvert Medal. Her 820 points was 90 points clear of second-placed Emma Inglis (730) who was also well ahead of third-placed Stere Kalis on 639. Lauren Innes came in fourth on 620 points and Robine Rijke fifth on 565 points.


Alana contributed consistently with bat and ball across the season, scoring 239 runs at 21.7 off the bat and taking an outstanding 34 wickets at 12.03 with her leg breaks. Her best bowling of 5/8 in the second of two T20 matches against Dandenong capped off a day in which she finished with 9/28 from her 8 overs. 


The 24 year old also took out the Karen Brown Trophy for Women's First Eleven bowling and became a member of the Cricket Victoria 200 Club during the season.


The DWN Jukes Medal for Men's Club Champion was a closer affair but Nigel Hunt (648) was still a clear 39 point winner over second-placed Matt Wilcox (609). Adam Bull was third with 593 points, Nick Blaich fourth on 587 and last year's medalist Stephen Seymour in fifth on 581 points.


With three 5-wicket hauls, including 11/43 across two innings (6/24 and 5/19) against Melbourne University, Nigel Hunt had a stellar year. His 36 wickets at 15.2 earns him the honour of leading wicket-taker across all grades. Nigel has also been awarded the AA Horneman Memorial Ward as the best clubman from the playing group for his off-field contributions to club events and communications.


The Dav Whatmore Trophy for Men's First Eleven Batting goes to James Billington for his 542 runs at 41.69 while Stephen Seymour's 16 wickets at 16.50 earns him the Bryce McGain Trophy for Men's First Eleven Bowling. The Stan Stephens Memorial Trophy for First Eleven Fielding was awarded to Lachlan Bangs


The Ando Aparo Trophy for Women's First Eleven Batting was again awarded to Emma Inglis for her 591 runs at 39.40, and the Karen Brown Trophy for Women's First Eleven Bowling went to Alana King for her 34 wickets at 12.03. Paris Bowdler was awarded the Women's First Eleven Fielding Award.


The Ian Crawford Perpetual Presidents' Award for best non-playing clubman was awarded to Jan Gnatt. Jan has made an outstanding contribution to the operations of the club well over and above his duties as grounds manager at Righetti Oval and Toorak Park.


Congratulations to all the 2019-20 award winners.


Trophies will be presented to all award recipients at the launch of the 2020-21 season.



2019-20 Award Winners


DWN Jukes Medal Men's Club Champion        Nigel Hunt

Matt Wilcox

Adam Bull

Nicholas Blaich

Stephen Seymour

648 points 





 Julie Calvert Medal Women's Club Champion Alana King

Emma Inglis

Sterre Kalis

Lauren Innes

Robine Rijke

820 points





 Men's First Eleven Dav Whatmore Trophy: Batting 

Bryce McGain Trophy: Bowling

Stan Stephens Trophy

James Billington 

Stephen Seymour

Lachlan Bangs

542 @ 41.69

16 @16.50

 Women's First Eleven 

Ando Aparo Trophy: Batting

Karen Brown Trophy: Bowling


Emma Inglis

Alana King

Paris Bowdler 

591 @ 39.40

34 @ 12.03

 Men's Second Eleven 




Nicholas King

Liam Brown

Sashin Garber 

230 @ 57.50

22 @ 18.05


Women's Second Eleven  




Rebecca Heenan

Ava Bennett

Samantha Deeble 

293 @ 22.54

20 @ 11.85

 Men's Third Eleven 




Pranav Menon

Sam Hill

Thomas Sudano 

219 @ 43.80

22 @ 19.95

Women's Third Eleven  




Maddison Heitlinger

Anna Quinsey-Munro

Zoe Quinsey-Munro

87 @ 43.50

11 @ 7.36

Men's Fourth Eleven




Brett Webber

Balaram Dhulipala

Ashok Khedkar 

351 @ 50.14

28 @ 14.36

Women's Fourth Eleven  




Ellen Williams

Olivia Cooper

Olivia Cooper 

95 @ 19.00

5 @ 18.00

Perpetual Trophies 

AA Horneman Memorial Award

Ian Crawford Perpetual Presidents' Award 

Nigel Hunt

Jan Gnatt 

Junior Encouragement Awards 



Sashin Garber

Ellen Williams 


Last updated: Wednesday October 21, 2020 9:48PM
Author: Nigel Hutton