top of page

Sam Arscott and Damon Egan our 2022/23 Medalists

Updated: Aug 17, 2023

A fantastic crowd of 150 players, parents, volunteers, supporters and guests saw Egan and Arscott announced as DWN Jukes and Julie Calvert Medalists at the Marine Hotel, Brighton on Saturday 6 May.

Damon Egan was a well deserved winner of the DWN Jukes Medal, his second success in three years.

Egan was the leading run scorer across the club with 606 runs at 43.30. He compiled six half-centuries including four innings of 80 plus.

His 603 points was 20 points clear of second-placed Cameron Hemp's 583 points, but behind the 715 points accumulated as winner in the 2020/21 premiership season.

Paceman Liam Brown was the leading wicket-taker across the club with 27 wickets at 12.78 and finished third on 561 points, just ahead of last years champion Nick Morrey on 556 points and Lachlan Bangs on 461.

Samantha Arscott capped off a brilliant year to take out the Julie Calvert Medal on 507 points, ahead of Merinda Hale on 481, Bronte Mosley 476, Jennifer Taffs 417, and Sophie Day on 375 points.

Sam played most of her season in the Women's Second XI and pulled off a rare double with 107 against EMP in Round 15 and 6/23 against Greenvale Kangaroos in Round 8.

Team awards

Jennifer Taffs took out the Ando Aparo Trophy for the Women's First XI batting average for the second year in a row. She was the leading women's run scorer again in the women's group with 397 runs at 26.47, helped along by the 165 runs from her last three innings.

Ava Bennett claimed the Karen Brown Trophy for the Women's First XI bowling average with her 14 wickets at 20.14, while Maddie White was awarded the First XI fielding award.

Damon Egan was awarded the Dav Whatmore Trophy for best First XI batting average for his 606 runs at 43.30.

The Bryce McGain Trophy for best First XI bowling average went to Nick Boland for his 19 wickets at 19.42 while English import Ethan Brookes was awarded the Stan Stephens Memorial Trophy fielding award.

Perpetual Trophies

The club awards perpetual trophies to people who have made outstanding contributions to the club during the season.

In 2022/23 these awards were presented to:

  • Kath Hempenstall Award for best playing club woman: Ava Bennett

  • AA Horneman Memorial Award for best playing club man: Ben Sexton

  • Ian Crawford Perpetual Presidents' Award for best non-playing club person: Kent Waring

Rising Star and Junior Encouragement Awards

There are two sets of awards that acknowledge the performances and potential of the younger players at the club.

The Grimmett Club Rising Star Awards acknowledge talented players from the U18 Marj Jennings Cup and the U17 Dowling Shield tournaments. This year's winners were Matilda Pendergast and Mitch Kirkwood-Scott.

Junior Encouragement Awards are presented to young players to recognise potential and encourage ongoing development. They are nominated by the men's and women's head coaches and this year's winners were Jesse Van Rooyen and Elizabeth Cormack.

New Life Members

This year the club had the pleasure of announcing two new life members to the club. Brendan McGuinness was inducted on the night and will be well known to many True Blues as a former First XI opening batter, pathways and development squad coach, and co-instigator of the past player and supporters club, the Grimmett Club. Chris Garcia was also announced but was unavailable to attend and will be formally inducted at an appropriate occasion in the future.

All the award winners are listed below. Congratulations all!

2022-23 Award Winners

Julie Calvert Medal - Women's Club Champion
  • 507 Samantha Arscott

  • 481 Merinda Hale

  • 476 Bronte Mosley

  • 417 Jennifer Taffs

  • 375 Sophie Day

DWN Jukes Medal - Men's Club Champion
  • 603 Damon Egan

  • 583 Cameron Hemp

  • 561 Liam Brown

  • 556 Nick Morrey

  • 461 Lachlan Bangs

Women's First Eleven
Batting average - Ando Aparo Trophy
  • Jennifer Taffs - 397 runs @ 26.47

Bowling average - Karen Brown Trophy
  • Ava Bennett - 14 wkts @ 20.14

  • Maddie White

Men's First Eleven
Batting average - Dav Whatmore Trophy
  • Damon Egan - 606 runs @ 43.29

Bowling average - Bryce McGain Trophy
  • Nick Boland - 19 wkts @ 19.42

Fielding - Stan Stephens Memorial Trophy
  • Ethan Brookes

Women's Second Eleven
Batting average
  • Samantha Arscott - 246 runs @ 22.36

Bowling average
  • Emma Johnston - 14 wkts @ 14.71

  • Madeline Waring

Men's Second Eleven
Batting average
  • Sashin Garber - 216 runs @ 27.00

Bowling average
  • James Boyce - 20 wkts @ 19.30

  • James McPhee

Women's Third Eleven
Batting average
  • Bronte Mosley - 81 runs @ 27.00

Bowling average
  • Bronte Mosley - 16 wkts @ 13.81

  • Felicity Clissold

Men's Third Eleven
Batting average
  • Nick King - 210 runs @ 42.00

Bowling average
  • Hugh Birchall - 15 wkts @ 9.60

  • Nick King

Women's Fourth Eleven

Batting average

  • Ishita Tiwari - 170 runs @ 42.50

Bowling average

  • Bronte Mosley - 9 wkts @ 13.78

  • Mikayla Collins

Men's Fourth Eleven
Batting average
  • Mitchell Sennitt - 271 runs @ 90.33

Bowling average
  • Max Pritchard - 16 wkts @ 13.81

  • Josh Rotstein

Junior Encouragement Awards
  • Women - Elizabeth Cormack

  • Men - Jesse Van Rooyen

Grimmett Club Rising Star Awards
  • Women - Matilda Pendergast

  • Men - Mitch Kirkwood-Scott

Perpetual Trophies

Kath Hempenstall Award - Best Playing Club Woman

  • Ava Bennett

AA Horneman Memorial Award - Best Playing Club Man

  • Ben Sexton

Ian Crawford Perpetual Presidents' Award - Best Non-playing Club Person

  • Kent Waring

Life Membership
  • Brendan McGuinness

  • Chris Garcia


Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page